Omicron Xi Omega Recognizes Academic and Community Excellence

Members of Omicron Xi Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. presented scholarships to six local area students and recognized a public servant during its annual scholarship reception held at the Catchings Owens Community Suite in Montclair on Saturday, June 18.
Among the recipients were four Montclair High School seniors: Kamali A. Robinson, who received the “Historically Black College & University Scholarship” to attend Hampton University to study Kinesiology; India Green, who received the “Willa Mae Elazer & Linda Marie Elazer-Davis Scholarship” to attend Temple University to study communications; Sierra Holmes, who received a “Community Service Scholarship” and will attend Montclair State University to study business and fashion merchandising, and Samira Barnes, who will study criminal justice at Towson University, having received the “Doris H. Coleman Butterfly Book Scholarship.”
Lidia A. Hughes, a Bloomfield High School senior, received a “Community Service Scholarship” to attend Caldwell University to study art and criminal justice, and Jasmine L. Garland, an East Orange Stem Academy senior, received the “’I Am’ Scholarship” to attend Seton Hall University to study social and behavioral sciences.
Additionally, Officer Tyrone Williams, Jr. received a Community Service Award for his high level of community involvement in activities through the Montclair community, including his work in the Montclair Community Policing Unity and as director of the Police Athletic League.
“Since 1984 Omicron Xi Omega has provided academic scholarships to local young women who exemplify academic excellence and community service and who wish to pursue a college education, “stated Althia R. Tweiten, president of the Omicron Xi Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
“Through the Omicron Xi Omega Chapter scholarship program, we have been able to distribute more than $100,000 in scholarship awards since our chapter organized in Montclair more than 30 years ago,” added Loistine Clark, chair person of the chapters’ scholarship program.